San Diego Gateway to College and Career

San Diego Gateway to College and Career

Join Our Community AND...

  • Graduate from high school or pass a high school exit exam
  • Earn a certificate that helps you get a better job
  • Start community college, feeling ready and financially supported
  • Get paid to learn skills and explore career opportunities at a local company
  • Become JOB READY: Know where to find and apply for jobs and ace your interviews

Our team supports your success!

Requirements to participate:

  • 18-24 years old
  • Automatically eligible if you have not finished high school
  • Automatically eligible if you live in any of the following zip codes: 92102, 92105, 92113, 92114, 92115, 92139
  • Looking for a “better” or “career” job
  • Ready to commit time to setting and achieving goals

Visit

  • Visit the Gateway to Opportunity Youth Resource Center at the Educational Cultural Complex to learn more about the program and seek support from staff. It is also home to a student computer lab and has dedicated academic counseling available for students.
  • Monday-Friday 10 AM to 4:00 PM
  • Appointments are strongly encouraged. Drop-ins are welcome!

Contact Us

E: sdgateway@sdccd.edu

P:  619-388-4880

 

More About the Gateway Program:

Vision

Sponsored by San Diego Continuing Education Foundation, we envision empowered young adults able to imagine their possibilities for achieving self- sufficiency and engaging in actions that create emotional, social, and financial sustainability and well-being.

Mission

Committed to alleviating youth disconnection, we serve opportunity youth by creating a compassionate educational community that provides individualized and intensive support, wrap around services, guided pathways to college and career, employment driven learning opportunities, and subsidized work experience.

Program Staff

Dr. Laurie Coskey, Executive Director lcoskey@sdccd.edu

Flora Barron, Program Manager fbarron@sdccd.edu

Semret Hailemariam, Program Coordinator shailemariam@sdccd.edu

Anisha Jackson, Case Manager ajackson001@sdccd.edu

Victor Gonzalez, Case Manager vgonzalez001@sdccd.edu

Kimberley Ebert, Business Services Representative kebert@sdccd.edu 

 

San Diego Gateway to College and Career is partially funded by The San Diego Workforce Partnership, WIOA Title I.  It is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

 

Mission: San Diego Continuing Education commits to student success and community enrichment by providing accessible, equitable, and innovative quality education and support services to diverse adult learners in pursuit of lifelong learning, training, career advancement, and pathways to college.