English as a Second Language and Citizenship

Program Description

English as a Second Language classes are offered at 6 campuses and many other locations in the community. There are morning, afternoon, and evening classes at 7 different levels, from beginning to advanced. We also offer Citizenship classes, Vocational ESL classes, English for Career classes, and Transition to College classes.

Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs)

  • ESL students effectively listen to and speak with people of diverse backgrounds to fulfill communication tasks as workers, family members, community members, and/or lifelong learners.
  • ESL students demonstrate appropriate reading and critical thinking skills to process information related to their roles as workers, family members, community members, and/or lifelong learners.
  • ESL students demonstrate effective writing skills to fulfill writing tasks as workers, family members, community members, and/or lifelong learners.

Program Dean

Jan Jarrell

Mid City Campus
3792 Fairmont Avenue
San Diego, CA 92105
jjarrell@sdccd.edu

Program Chair

Corinne Layton
Mid City Campus
clayton@sdccd.edu

Assistant Program Chairs

Ann Marie Holzknecht
Cesar Chavez Campus
aholzkne@sdccd.edu

Jim Brice
CE Mesa and West City Campuses
jbrice@sdccd.edu

Laurel Slater
CE Miramar Campus
lslater@sdccd.edu 

Carolyn McGavock
Educational Cultural Complex
cmcgavoc@sdccd.edu

Lydia Hammett
Mid City Campus
lhammett@sdccd.edu

Steve Gwynne
Mid City Campus
sgwynne@sdccd.edu

Mission: San Diego Continuing Education commits to student success and community enrichment by providing accessible, equitable, and innovative quality education and support services to diverse adult learners in pursuit of lifelong learning, training, career advancement, and pathways to college. read more ยป